Nigerians are passionate about football and this passion is most aptly demonstrated in Nigeria’s number one celebrity football showdown.

Celebrity Fans Challenge pits celebrities who support the popular football clubs against each other in a series of contests.
These contests are in the form of debates and creative performances.
The contests are extremely exciting and entertaining, as the celebrities mix their knowledge of the beautiful game with their talent, which makes for quite a spectacle!

The contests take place in front of a live audience and a star-studded panel of judges.

The last edition of this unique contest took place on the  29th of August 2015 at Fourpoints by Sheraton, Victoria Island and it was quite explosive, as eight of Nigeria’s most popular showbiz personalities went to battle in four outstanding clashes.

9ice took on Illbliss, Timi Dakolo locked horns with Frank Edoho, ID Cabasa threw down against Reminisce and Segun Arinze battled Fred Amata.
IMG_0130 IMG_0108
9ice, Reminisce, Segun Arinze and Timi Dakolo emerged winners.

Sam Sodje, Biola Kazeem, Mathew ‘Elegbete 1 of Brila’ Edafe and ace comedy duo- Still Ringing made up the panel of judges.

The next edition of Celebrity Fans Challenge is powered by Merrybet and will hold on the 20th of March 2016 at Oriental Hotel, VI, Lagos from 4pm..


The contest takes place in 10 rounds of football related debate questions/tasks thrown at the contestants by the Referee.

The celebrities exchange jibes and heated banter  on burning football issues relating to both clubs.

They sing, dance, compose lyrics, rap, crack jokes, run match commentaries, etc in a bid to impress the audience and the judges.

Segun Arinze doing a pushup challenge
Segun Arinze doing a pushup challenge
Frank Edoho doing a ball juggling challenge
Frank Edoho doing a ball juggling challenge

After each round, the judges take turns to vote for the more impressive performance, and the winner of that round scores a point.

Members of the audience will also vote in each match. The points are tallied at the end of each contest and a winner emerges.